The Great Brain

This book, based upon the author’s own childhood experiences with a mischievous older brother named Tom is set in 1896 Adenville, UT. John D. tells the stories about Tom D. (all three brothers, the first one named Sweyn, have the middle name of Dennis) Fitzgerald, age 10, who has a “great brain” and can figure out solutions to all kinds of problems, including how to make money from giving tours of the family’s new water closet, find some friends who are lost in a cave, help a Greek immigrant boy learn his way around, deal with the mean new teacher named Mr. Standish, and assist his friend Andy who has lost a leg. Tom comes across as a conniving, rationalizing kind of person who takes undue advantage of other people, but he does undergo a reformation in the end. Along the way, he expresses a little lying, disobedience, and defiance (and it is interesting that on one occasion his father says, “I have never laid a hand on you,” which may explain some things), but there are consequences that result, and when some of Tom’s schemes backfire he, and his brother, learn some valuable lessons. The language is not bad, although common euphemisms such as gosh, heck, darn, and gee are found. Also be warned that the boy who loses his leg, Andy, at first wants to commit suicide and gets John to help him try several times, although Tom aids Andy in learning to overcome his handicap. In general, this is a quaint, nostalgic look at young people’s life in a previous generation. Understanding that it does not always necessarily present a good role model for children, it is still an enjoyable read, and there are opportunities to point out some important lessons. There are several sequels: More Adventures of the Great Brain, Me and My Little Brain, The Great Brain at the Academy, The Great Brain Reforms, The Return of the Great Brain, The Great Brain Does It Again, and The Great Brain is Back.

The Great Brain (Great Brain, Book 1)

The Great Brain (Great Brain, Book 1)
Product Description This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old.  Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit.  When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day.... Read more

Other versions

The Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain, Audible Audio Edition
The Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain, Audio Cassette
The Great Brain (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) (Great Brain (Prebound)), School & Library Binding
The Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald (2000-01-01), Hardcover
The Great Brain (Yearling), Library Binding
Great Brain [Paperback] by John D. Fitzgerald, Unknown Binding
The Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain, Paperback
Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain : The Scheming Adventures of a Boy Genius, Paperback
The Great Brain, Hardcover
The Great Brain by John Fitzgerald (2002-05-28), Audio Cassette
The Great Brain, Library Binding
By John D. FitzgeraldThe Great Brain[Hardcover], Hardcover
The Great Brain, Library Binding
The Great Brain, Hardcover
The Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald (1990-11-05), Paperback
The Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald (2000-01-01), Hardcover
Great Brain, Audio Cassette
The great brain,, Hardcover
The Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald (1990-12-23), Paperback
The Great Brain, Hardcover
The Great Brain, Paperback
Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain, Hardcover
The Great Brain (A Dell Yearling Book), Paperback
The Great Brain by john d. fitzgerald (1972-08-01), Paperback
Great Brain (Dolphin), Paperback
The Great Brain, Library Binding
The Great Brain, Kindle Edition
The Great Brain (Great Brain (Prebound)), Library Binding
The Great Brain, Hardcover
The Great Brain, Hardcover
Great Brain, Hardcover
The Great Brain, Hardcover
The Great Brain, Unknown Binding
The Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain, Hardcover
Great Brain, the (Lib)(CD), Audio CD
The Great Brain, Mass Market Paperback
The Great Brain by John D Fitzgerald (2004-02-05), Paperback
The Great Brain, Hardcover
The Great Brain, Paperback
Great Brain, Hardcover
The Return of the Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain by John Fitzgerald (1972-07-15), Paperback
The Great Brain by John Fitzgerald (1972-07-15), Paperback
Great Brain, Paperback
The Great Brain, Hardcover
The Great Brain by John D Fitzgerald (2004-02-05), Paperback
The Great Brain, Turtleback
Great Brain, Unbound
The Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald (2000-01-01), Hardcover
THE GREAT BRAIN, Paperback
The Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald (2000-01-01), Hardcover
Great Brain, Turtleback

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *