Newbery and other Book awards for 2010

Today American Library Association announced it’s literary award winners. We have only read a few of the books awarded and look forward to reading many more.

John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature


Four Newbery Honor Books also were named:


Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children


Two Caldecott Honor Books also were named:


Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults


Four Printz Honor Books also were named:


Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults


One King Author Honor Book was selected:


Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award


One King Illustrator Honor Book was selected:


Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award
“The Rock and the River,” written by kekla magoon, is the Steptoe winner. The book is published by Aladdin, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division.


Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement
Walter Dean Myers is the winner of this first-ever Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement. The award pays tribute to the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton. Myers’ books include: “Amiri & Odette: A Love Story,” published by Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic; “Fallen Angels,” published by Scholastic Press; “Monster,” published by Amistad and HarperTeen, imprints of HarperCollins Publishers; and “Sunrise Over Fallujah,” published by Scholastic Press.


Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience


Three Belpré Illustrator Honor Books were selected:


Pura Belpré (Author) Award


Two Belpré Author Honor Books were named:


Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience
young children ages 0 to 10.


Schneider Family Book Award for middle grades (ages 11-13).


Schneider Family Book Award for The teen (ages 13-18)


William C. Morris Award honors a book written by a first-time author for young adults


Odyssey Award for excellence in audiobook production


Three Odyssey Honor Audiobooks were named:


Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished beginning reader book


Four Geisel Honor Books were named:


Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults
Jim Murphy is the 2010 Edwards Award winner. His books include: “An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793,” published by Clarion Books; “Blizzard! The Storm That Changed America,” published by Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic; “The Great Fire,” published by Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic; “The Long Road to Gettysburg,” published by Clarion Books; and “A Young Patriot: The American Revolution as Experienced by One Boy,” published by Clarion Books.


Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children


Three Sibert Honor Books were named:


YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award


Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video (The video is unavailable so I linked to the book for now.)


Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book translated from a foreign language and subsequently published in the United States


Three Batchelder Honor Books also were selected:


Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences


May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award recognizing an author, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children’s literature, who then presents a lecture at a winning host site
Lois Lowry will deliver the 2011 lecture. The internationally acclaimed author’s career spans more than 30 years. She is a two-time recipient of the Newbery Medal, in 1990 for “Number the Stars,” set in Denmark during World War II, and in 1994 for the eerily dystopian “The Giver.” Both books are published by Houghton Mifflin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *